Jan S Rkm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Louisville, Kentucky

Public needs to know!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

I had a devastating fire in 2022. Servpro was good about packing contents.

Then, the return started. First, I was lied to about my storage. They promised it would be in a climate controlled environment. LIE!

It was stored in pods, outside, for sixteen months!

Oh, were so happywe cleaned your items three times! REALLY?? They all had soot on them. They took items back, and, cleaning people came.

Helped, somewhat, but, still had remnants of black on items when I wiped them down.

I found random broken items scattered about with no explanation. If they broke something it was deemed unsalvageable! Chipped and discolored pieces.

Do not trust your valuable pieces with Servpro.

I received clothing items that were not mine, and, they would not pick them up. Some guy is missing two black sport coats, and, more!

They also charge too much, and, dont own up to their mistakes.

It was a nightmare.

View full review
Loss:
$5
Pros:
  • There are no pros
Cons:
  • Not a reputable company

Preferred solution: My furniture fixed, and, refunds of broken items.

User's recommendation: Run from Servpro!

Colonel Htm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Fire Restoration

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Read and Learn, and Pass it On.

On the evening of March 29, 2021, our fathers home sustained damage due to an electrical fire. He escaped uninjured but was forced to relocate.

This Cedar Rapids home is a pillar on First Avenues Northwest side and has been in our family since our grandmother purchased it on May 15, 1951.

March 31, 2021, was the day that our father signed the contract with ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids, IA to complete the restoration of our family home. The owner, project manager, our father, as well as three family members, and our insurance claims representative, were present at this meeting. They assured our father that ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids could take care of all cleaning, restoration, and storage of his personal property and that the timeline for completion would be 6-9 months.

At the time, it was reassuring to our father that a local company would be overseeing the entire process of restoration, reconstruction, storage, as well as cleaning. Little did we know that this journey would consume almost three years of our lives.

Nov. 29, 2023, marked 32 months to the day that our father signed the contract with ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids.

Yes, the exorbitant bill has been paid but there is much left to be said. This is a forewarning to anyone who may ever need assistance after a disaster when decision-making is driven by emotions, distress, and uncertainty. Please read through our experience so that you will be better prepared than we were when our father signed his agreement with ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids in 2021.

Our father passed away on Oct.

1, 2021, and was never able to return to his beloved home. Throughout the reconstruction, we were continually given multiple completion dates by both the project manager and the owner of the company beginning in July 2022. The delays required our family to obtain two claim extensions from our insurance company, as this work was not completed within their 2-year underwriting limit for the claim to be finalized and closed.

Also, because of multiple delays, family members who eventually purchased the home were forced to reapply for mortgages due to the expiration of rate locks they had secured with their financial institution. By the time they could close on the transaction, their interest rates had increased by over 2%.

Because the project manager was rarely on-site, many unnecessary setbacks occurred.

On May 8, 2023, the ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids project manager admitted to his failures in a meeting that was prompted by our family and several Cedar Rapids Building Inspectors. He assured us that he would Make it right. When the General Manager was asked about this, his response was, The comment made by _____ to "make it right" was never meant as a financial commitment to the _____ family on behalf of Servpro. If not a financial commitment, how else could Servpro make things right for their admitted negligence?

Here are just a few of the adversities that occurred over the course of 32 months:

- Multiple subcontractors were used during the reconstruction, including out-of-state subcontractors.

Their availability was limited and sporadic. When one subcontractor failed to complete a job, another had to pick up where the first one left off.

- The errant disposal of original wood trim that had not been damaged in the fire. We happened to be at the house one day when a ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids employee was removing a pile of debris that included some of the original dining room trim. We rescued those few pieces, but some had already been discarded.

New wood base and case moldings had to be milled - and our family was charged for this work.

- Family heirlooms were lost at the ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids storage facility including all the curved wood shelving for a cherished antique china cabinet and the hardware for our grandmother's century-old, custom-made dining room table. The project manager was made aware of these missing items, and we had no resolution or reimbursement. Also lost or misplaced was our mothers antique cheval bedroom mirror. We were reimbursed for this item, but this family heirloom is now gone.

- Over $4,300 in damages to personal property were incurred during the move-out with White Glove Movers, as well as during the cleaning process at Servpros facility in Hiawatha, Iowa Although the damages were paid, this further supports our opinion that their sub-contractors and employees lacked the expertise required in dealing with vintage and antique personal property - see photos attached.

- A water leak in the kitchen ceiling damaged newly installed drywall due to a sub-contractor failing to properly install a water line (photo attached.)

-The side entrance to the home was secured by a pole affixed to the base of the door for 2.5 years before a new door was finally installed.

(photo attached).

We received the final invoice on Nov. 15, 2023, from the General Manager, although no final inspections had yet been completed by the City of Cedar Rapids Building Department. This was quickly brought to his attention, and it was made clear that no payment would be remitted until there was proof of passed inspections. As one would expect, the inspections happened quickly since payment was being withheld.

Interestingly, this was our first communication with the companys General Manager over the course of 32 months and it was made blatantly clear that interest would accrue if the bill was not paid within 30 days.

How unfortunate that this same sense of urgency was nonexistent throughout the restoration process.

One would have to question the 56% increase in costs from the initial dwelling claim estimate to the actual invoice. It is quite astounding that the final invoice was 18% more than the actual assessed value of the home. We find it ironic that in the community we live in multiple homes have been built from the ground up in much less time than it took ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids to complete the restoration of our home.

To ensure that other consumers are not burdened with the experience that we endured, we suggest that you consider the following:

1. Take the time to read the ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids contract thoroughly.

If you dont understand the language, have an attorney review it for you. It will be money well spent. If you or your attorney have any hesitation at all, take your business elsewhere.

2. If it is an insurance claim-related repair and your insurance provider insists this company be used to perform the work, we strongly advise you to create a service agreement addendum that outlines dates for completion and monetary penalties for failure to meet those deadlines.

If ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids refuses to sign your service agreement addendum, take your business elsewhere. If you must - before you engage in a contract with this company, request the names, addresses, and phone numbers of all subcontractors that will be involved in your project. Confirm with them their availability and work history with ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids. If they cannot provide this information, take your business elsewhere.

3.

Demand the construction/remodel restoration credentials for all ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids employees assigned to your project, as well as references from clients for work they have completed. If they cannot or will not provide these credentials and references, take your business elsewhere.

4. If your insurance provider insists that you use ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids, remind them that YOU are the customer and then take your business elsewhere.

5. In our experience, the spoken and written words of our project manager as well as the owner of ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids proved to be consistently unreliable, if not outright lies.

In hindsight, we should have taken our business elsewhere.

6. A formal complaint was filed with SERVPROS corporate headquarters in Gallatin, TN, only to be deferred back to the local franchisee, ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids. Be aware that SERVPRO INDUSTRIES, INC. prioritizes supporting their local franchisee rather than their paying customer.

Take your business elsewhere.

We have documented communications with ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids, including emails, photos, and videos of the multiple challenges our family has faced since March 31, 2021, but anticipate that this business will have contradictory responses to our testimonial. However, the facts remain. It took this company 32 months to complete a project that they committed to our father would take 6-9 months.

We say all of this to create awareness for consumers. If a natural disaster or any unexpected catastrophic event impacts your family, take the time to thoroughly consider all your options.

ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids may tout themselves as trusted leaders in the restoration industry with promises to return your property to like it never even happened condition but be prepared for a journey that will leave you questioning the capabilities of this business, as well as their ethics.

In our opinion, this company is a high-dollar carpet cleaning business, at best. They lack the competency, expertise, and organizational skills required to perform restoration and remodeling services. Their slick advertising proclaiming their ability to provide these services is blatantly misleading.

We are steadfast in our mission to honor our fathers legacy. He was a lifelong Cedar Rapidian and proud WWII Veteran who entrusted and believed that ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids had the utmost concern for our situation and would complete the repairs of his home in a timely manner.

He came from a generation that entrusted people to follow through with what they said they would do.

If our parents and grandparents were alive today, they would be demoralized by what has transpired over the past three years.

Through it all, this 115-year-old stately home remains in our family, and for that we are grateful.

Lastly, we hope that this account of our experience has enlightened consumers as to the pitfalls of signing a contract with ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids. If you are an insurance company or insurance claim representative reading this post, please support your customers by never referring them to this company.

Feel free to message us with any questions and share this review with those who may benefit from it in some way.

Greg & Amy (Hanson) Stewart

Fairfax, IA

#consumerprotection #likeitneverevenhappened #cleanup #firerestoration #servpro #cedarrapids #disasterrecovery #mitigation #iowabusiness #insuranceclaim #servprolife #whiteglovemovers

View full review
Loss:
$211000
Cons:
  • Lack of communication
  • Incompetent subcontractors & staff
  • Unethical

Preferred solution: Consumer Awareness

User's recommendation: Do not recommend ROBARB, LLC dba ServPro of Cedar Rapids, IA - Consumer Beware At All Costs

Ezmeralda Opb

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Warning for other consumers

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

Warning for anyone contemplating hiring ServPro of Cedar Rapids:

On March 29, 2021, my fathers home sustained excessive damage due to an electrical fire, On March 31, 2021, he signed a contract with ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids. He was relieved to know they could take care of all aspects of the restoration process including cleaning, reconstruction, and storage of his contents while he temporarily relocated.

ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids told my father that the entire process would take 6-9 months.

It took ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids almost THREE YEARS! My father passed October 1, 2021, and never got to return to his home. We received multiple excuses and multiple completion dates when questioned about the progress and completion. ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids hired subcontractors to do the work.

The communication between the subcontractors and the project manager was extremely poor, there were issues with keeping consistent subcontractors, poor workmanship, and a problem with no one working for extended periods. During the packing and storing of my fathers possessions, antiques and family heirlooms were damaged or missing. When submitted with the final invoice, there was a 56% increase in costs from the initial dwelling claim estimate. The final invoice was 18% higher than the actual assessed value of the home!

I feel a responsibility to warn the public of our experience, I would never want another family to go through what we endured.

The following are suggestions and considerations to consumers if you are contemplating hiring ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids:

1.Take the time to read the ROBARB, LLC dba SERVOPRO contract thoroughly. If you do not understand it, have an attorney review it for you. It will be money well spent.

2.Create a service agreement addendum that outlines dates for completion and monetary penalties for failure to meet those deadlines.

3.Request names, addresses and phone numbers of all subcontractors.

4.Demand the construction/remodel restoration credentials for all ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids employees assigned to your project. Ask for references!

5.If your insurance company insists that you use ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids, remind them that YOU are the customer.

6.In our experience, the spoken and written words of our project manager as well as the owner of ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids proved to be consistently unreliable.

7.A formal complaint was filed with SERVPROS corporate headquarters in Gallatin, TN, only to be deferred back to the local franchisee, ROBARB, LLC dba SERVPRO of Cedar Rapids.

Be aware that SERVPRO INDUSTRIES, INC prioritizes supporting their local franchises rather than their paying customer. Take your business elsewhere!

Jane Hanson Lasko

(Photos posted below were taken two years after starting date)

View full review

Preferred solution: Apology

User's recommendation: Would never recommend

Lakiyah Mhp

This review is written by an individual who has purchased the reviewed product/service and/or confirms being a paying customer of this company. Check our FAQ

Verified Buyer
|

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Hot Springs Village, Arkansas

Terrible Communication

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Servpro - Terrible Communication

During a severe weather condition, we had a small leak in our house. I called Servpro immediately and no call was returned for over 24 hours.

When they did return the call, it was from a storm center out of state. Local franchises were unable to help us and we were reliant on the storm center coordination which was horrible. It took two months for them to finally remove all the damaged materials. What started is a small leak and a small room expanded to the entire garage and entire room and laundry area due to mold from sitting so long waiting for a Serv Pro removal.

Unless you have confidence in your local franchise, I would certainly stay away from Servepro for dealing with anything, especially if its during the time of a severe weather event that affects the area. since they dealt directly with our insurance company, we never even saw a receipt or had a chance to look at the itemization to see what they charged.

View full review
Jan S Rkm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Louisville, Kentucky

Public needs to know!

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

NEVER hire ServPro! They were there in the beginning to remove my contents after a devastating fire, but, after thatit was a disaster.

First, they lied saying all my furniture would be stored in a climate controlled environment.

LIE! 16 months in pods, outside, in the winter and summer.

Oh, we cleaned your items three times! REALLY??? Everything still had soot on it!

They sent cleaners to make it right. Helped, but, still not good.

Items were broken with no explanation given. I would discover random pieces everywhere. Things that were not broken when taken out were received broken, therefore, declared non salvageable!

All due to their negligence.

They delivered clothing items not mine, and, refused to pick up.

They chipped furniture took no responsibility.

And, they charge too much! Theyre a rip off, and, a nightmare!!

View full review

User's recommendation: Run from Servpro

Kyion Vau

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer

Not professional

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

This company could take things apart pretty good but they can't put them back together please think about choosing this company for your work they had to come back a couple times and redo stuff and now I have a crack in my ceiling and they don't want to call me back they charge my insurance company a lot of money and then they had the nerve to go back and charge them another Grand they charge $700 to put my stuff back when I was the one that took everything out twice for them and put it back they helped me push the couch back and sweep up their mess that's all they did very disappointed in this company please go with somebody else

View full review

Preferred solution: I don't want nothing they already took everything and they charge from moving things and putting stuff back when all they did was help me push the couch back

User's recommendation: Go with the company that's more professional these guys are a bunch of wannabes

dianna g Kra

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Raleigh, North Carolina

I just want to say my experience with Dena Web was quite rewarding

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
The good experience I had with Dena Webb was quite rewarding and hope I never need your service but if I do I know who to call.
View full review
Lakeisha Nsv

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Jeffersontown, Kentucky

ServPro Is the Worst

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full

This relates to SERVPRO OF EAST LOUISVILLE and SERVPRO OF SE JEFFERSON COUNTY. Little more can be said than ServPro did an absolutely terrible job on my elderly mom and dad's house (which had flood damage).

It took 6 months to finish the job (just one small bathroom and one small bedroom in the basement) and every week with them was worse than the one before. They were nightmarish to work with. They went through three construction managers during the course of the job. They refused to let me speak to the owner of the franchise.

They tried to steer my parents into selecting cheap materials (so they could pocket the difference). I had to manage most of the project, because the project manager (who quit ServPro halfway through) and contractor assigned to the job were worse than incompetent. My parents ended up accepting their poor, unprofessional work, just to get them out of our lives. It was that bad.

So bad, in fact, it was only the second time in my life that I've seen my father cry. Watching them cause so much anguish, disappointment, and hopelessness in my sweet, honest, and elderly parents (in their 80s) was almost more than I could take. It makes my stomach turn to know that they profited after causing so much misery. I'm trying to walk the thin line of giving the world fair warning about ServPro while keeping the world convinced that I'm not an angry nutbag.

Please, please, please do not hire this company.

You will regret it. It truly was the worst consumer experience of my life by orders of magnitude.

View full review
Cons:
  • Terrible customer service and incompetent mangagement

User's recommendation: Seriously, avoid at all costs.

Rose C Vkm

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker Chestertown, Maryland

Would not pay for replacement of damaged contents

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
You can see my review on Consumeraffairs.com I wrote a very honest and truthful account of my experience.
View full review

User's recommendation: Go elsewhere

Anonymous
map-marker Atlanta, Georgia

Servpro put equipment in my home for 4 weeks and never came back to check on equipment nor do any type of mitigation. Now they have put a lien on my property because I wouldn't sign off on services.

Very poor communication with customers and amongst themselves. Poor habits with customer service. They try to bully customers for payments of services not rendered. They have actually put a lien on my home, even though they are aware that services were never provided to me. 1 piece of equipment never worked
View full review

User's recommendation: Do not use this company unless you have a clear understanding of their services

Liza M Bgv

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
| map-marker San Ramon, California

Terrible customer service

Servpro came to diagnose a leak in my ceiling. The guy was nice and professional. However I paid the inspection fee and was told that I would get an estimate within a couple of days. Well, they never called back or emailed. The water kept spreading through the ceiling and damaging it while I waited. I had to find a different crew in a hurry. Absolutely the worst customer experience when you're feeling anxious and worried. Please spread the word to never do business with that company.
View full review

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Do not go in business with Servpro

Theresa O Pgr
map-marker Emmett Charter Township, Michigan

Terrible Terrible

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
Updated by user Oct 12, 2023

Thirteen months and still not done. Absolutely ridiculous.

Updated by user Oct 12, 2023

I am in Schoolcraft Michigan. Didn't know what ServePro address to choose when it asked to choose an address. I am a very frustrated and angry customer.

Original review Oct 12, 2023
It has been 13 months since basement flooded. Servepro is still not done.

They do not show up when they say they will be here. They do not call me back. Carpet was ordered six months ago at their direction. Carpet supplier is frustrated because the carpet is last to be installed and Servepro has not finished.

They showed up without letting me know last week. They were supposed to finish last Friday, didn't show. Carpet was supposed to be installed last Monday, had to cancel. Thirteen months is ridiculous.

It has caused so much stress and anxiety, let alone inconvenience. Would never recommend. Took my elderly, indoor cat to vet yesterday as he is very ill. The vet told me he has fleas.

The only way he could have gotten fleas is to go outside. She is certain he got outside. It had to have been when the workers were here and I didn't know they were here. If I know the workers are going to be here, I lock my cat in a room so he cannot get out.

I want to submit the vet bill to Servepro. This is unnacceptable.

He is very ill, the vet said he will recover Can't tell you how stressed I am. I want this project done.
View full review
Pros:
  • Water extraction was quick
Cons:
  • Restoration crew very unreliable
  • Poor communication
  • Thirteen months and still not done

Preferred solution: Full refund

User's recommendation: Do not use Servepro

1 comment
Shaeleigh Seq

Product return,

Anonymous
map-marker Mcallen, Texas

Owner of franchise was alerted today and said they are on it today!

after the cancellation with no call and no show. i called two more times.

then went to web site to complain. i also found owners number and addressed them. they were very concern and would get to the bottom of this. i told them sorry i had not contacted owner as i thought i was talking to owner.

today got owner number and apologized for not going up the ladder of command. i was frustrated and asked in complaint to hear from corporate and now would like to deal with owner only no need to address . i told owner if not addressed that i would then contact corporate.

again my apologies to all involved with this communication as owner was very concern and reassured me things would be dealt with and line of communication is good. thank you

View full review

User's recommendation: make sure you talk to owner of servpro company about all concerns not just location address of workers.

Anonymous
map-marker Mcallen, Texas

? indentations after new roof ? whether flashing done or done right beacause all along roof meeting second story there are indentations in ceiling after rain

ceiling after new room as mentioned snd now not showing after two scheduled appoints agreed upon. im very taken by this. wanted to request an extended warranty on roof since it is your company cancelling appointments with me. no weather related cancellations. i have been extremely cooperative and patient . My time is valuable and so is family and my house. please have someone in corporate contact me at (956) 513-**** and by mail or email lydiamaatouk6@***.com
View full review

User's recommendation: get inspection by another roofer after project

Mister P Bkp
map-marker Wichita, Kansas

Appalled

I am a police office who on my day off saw a SERVPRO car driving down the street with a guy smoking a joint out in the open. I called the local franchise to complain and they could have cared less. At least I know to look for their green vehicles in the future for driving while on drugs. Just terrible.
View full review

User's recommendation: Hide your weed if they come to your house.

Anonymous
map-marker New Albany, Indiana

I worked there for a while one customer had mold all throughout home.

stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full stars-rating-full
We did a customer's house and did not do a proper clean I told head of crew mold was beyond the bathroom and he told me to be quiet it's not on the bid. And he hopes customer's didn't hear me.
View full review

User's recommendation: They are over priced and do not complete jobs properly

Brands Related to Servpro

Servpro Canada reviews and complaints

Servpro Canada

0 Reviews

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content
  • PissedConsumer is on the Inc. 5000 list

For more information read Blog article